In-Person Absentee Voting

Any voter who will be absent from the county on election day, but does not qualify to receive a mail- in absentee ballot can vote prior to election day at:

Jefferson County Clerk’s Office Election Center
701 W. Ormsby Ave. Suite 301.
Louisville, KY 40203.
Phone: 502.574.6100


Qualifications for voting In-Person Absentee are:

  1. Person who due to age, disability, or illness will be unable to go to the polls on election day.
  2. Voter who will be outside the county on election day.
  3. Student who temporarily resides outside the county in which he is registered who will be out of the county on election day.
  4. Voter who is a member of the Armed Forces who will be confined to base within the county on election day and who learns of that confinement within 7 days or less of the election.
  5. Voter who is a citizen residing overseas and will be out of the county on election day.
  6. Voter or spouse of voter who has surgery scheduled that will require hospitalization on election day.
  7. Precinct Election Officer serving in a precinct other than that in which he is registered or an Alternate Precinct Election Officer.
  8. Member or any staff for the County Board of Elections; Any deputy county clerk; Any staff for the State Board of Elections.
  9. FOR  PRESIDENTIAL BALLOT ONLY: Moved to another state after its registration books closed.
  10. A woman in her last trimester of  pregnancy.


You will need to provide one of the following forms of identification to vote In-Person Absentee: 

  • Personal Acquaintance
  • Driver’s License
  • Social Security Card
  • Any identification card that has been issued by the county and which has been approved in writing by the State Board of Elections
  • Any identification card with picture and signature
  • Any United States government-issued identification card
  • Any Kentucky state government-issued identification card with picture
  • Credit Card


General Election, November 5, 2019
In-Person Absentee Voting Dates:

To be determined June 18, 2019

To be determined June 18, 2019